Get Started for free now 😀

For Hope & Love

Grief and Bereavement

We thrived as a species by forming attachments. The bond between baby and parent, for example, ensured that the baby’s chances of survival were strong amidst a dangerous environment. In the modern world, attachment has evolved into love for our spouses, family and friends with whom we share values and experiences.

Grief and bereavement are difficult to navigate alone, as it’s an all-consuming emotional roller coaster that can dominate our lives. Unfortunately for men, many of us feel that we need to suffer it in isolation. We’re more likely to cry in the car by ourselves than in front of others. We’re tempted to pretend nothing’s wrong despite the recent death of a loved one, divorce, job loss, or terminal diagnosis. We might even grieve a younger, healthier version of ourselves.

Due to our strong human tendency to love others, every one of us will grieve at some point in our life. It’s the cost we pay for being human. When life as you know it has changed forever, grief counselling can help you channel and express grief in a productive way.


Every person who dies leaves an average of 5 grieving people behind.

– The Recovery Village


10 to 20 percent of people experience complicated grief, where daily functioning becomes impaired.

– The Recovery Village


40 percent of grievers meet the criteria for major depression one month after their loss.

– The Recovery Village


88 percent of people experienced emotional symptoms while grieving, and 68 percent had physical symptoms.

– WebMD

How does Grief Manifest itself?

The grief and bereavement process will look different for everyone because nobody experiences grief in the same way. It’s an emotional upheaval that can manifest itself in many forms at different times throughout the various stages of grief. It is so strong that it can impact your physical and mental health if it’s ignored.

  • Fatigue
  • Headaches
  • Dizziness
  • Uncontrollable crying
  • Reduced immunity
  • Broken heart syndrome
  • Feeling numb
  • Denial & anger
  • Substance abuse
  • Changes in sleeping patterns
  • Changes in appetite
  • Depression

5 Stages of Grief

Because grief is so personal, the stages of it aren’t linear. There is no timeline or schedule. But, you can expect to experience five common stages that will help you through the grieving process:

You go into a state of shock and disbelief, which helps you pace the intensity of your feelings.

Your indignation is, indeed, righteous. You have loved and lost. Anger serves to remind you of that.

You’ll do anything to get your loved one back. Bargaining helps you accept that loss is inevitable.

Deep sadness over loss is appropriate and necessary. It helps you realize your loss is permanent.

Loss is never okay. But admitting your loss means you can move on with your life.

Consistency is key

Break the stigma

You are enough

Take the next step
Don’t give up

More Services